home and spagetti

The water came to a roaring boil, and I put in the dry spagetti noodles….stirring them around I remember that lots of boil is needed to move the noodles thus cooking them correctly.  My mother used to rinse the noodles after the boil.  Drain in a collander and then rinse well with cold water she would explain stops the starching process and the noodles wont be sticky.  Return to the pot and cover with cold water then bring to a very warm “temp” she would say…do not boil again.  Drain and serve with the sauce.  As I grew up in the midwest, I thought my mom made the best spagetti ever, regardless of the sauce…which she believed Ragu was a wonderful thing!

Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

