LOVE YOUR INGREDIENTS!

Im somewhat of a culinary gal.  Nothing noteable, however skilled enough to become interested in the science of cooking.  Dont worry I am not a cellular structure speaker…  My mother always told me to “tear the lettuce”,  “never cut it.”  “It tastes better.”  I always heeded her words and somehow found myself guilty if I dare put a knife or saw another treat the lettuce in other way than torn!  I have studied the response to other foods when they are handled in a less than respectful or gentle way!  I have noticed that in preparing fried rice that if I throw the ingredients in the pan on high heat, the rice generally will not bind or blend with the other flavors and seasonings.  However, when I prepare it with attention and rythmn the outcome is much more synergistic.  After seeing the flavors almost appear to my senses I began practicing a slower almost caressing use of the spoon when turning the rice over in the pan.  The butter and egg it lays on while being “fried” almost melds with the grains.  In waiting for the appropriate time to add garlic, salt and pepper seasoning the steam seems to rise as if exhaling with joy.  And within seconds the rice will pull together as one and the many become one dish.  Ready to be served it almost joyfully slides from the pan.  Ahh, perfection!  Food preparation as if it were an oil painting becomes a fine work of art.  And to the admirer, the flavors of all the ingredients speak to the palate as if loved.

Leave a Reply

