THE TROPHY!

I have worked hard at one of my lifes career.  It started nearly 18 years ago because I thought I might enjoy it.  I then found through the many years of learning from mentors around me that I was able to pull from my own understanding and experience to be pretty good at my job.  

As in most careers, there are highlights.  I have had many.  I have been to the door of exasperation and overcome the imaginary wall in front of me that seemed to obstruct my abilities to perform.

Like spring, every year has brought growth.  And with that growth I would develope the pathway for another accomplishment. I hurdled each challenge with self reflection and managed to move forward stride by stride.  Each phase has been work.  Not always pleasant and not always with belief but always with determination to meet the goal of my job.

Today I was called to the stage.  A point in each persons life where they are given a review of the work so far done…I looked proudly at my work as it was displayed to the world on this fine day.  I saw all the years of effort up to this point handsomely, gracefully and smartly go forward for a day of strength and ability.  A reflection of my own beliefs and life.  For my efforts I was awarded the trophy.  Not an award to sit on the shelf to gawk at but a bigger than life trophy.  I received the overwhelming feeling to store in my heart of pride and knowledge that I had done it well.  

I stared for a little longer time as my daughter and son approached the school doors.  They looked back to see me and smiled waving, giving me the last closure that I was right…they are great.  And I know now that this day has presented me with the greatest award I have ever received.  The trophy goes to….a mom.

Leave a Reply

